English
  • Français
  • English
  • Nederlands
  • Deutsch
  • camping_les_falaises_region_honfleur

    Normandy, a land of contrasts

    Normandy has a rich cultural heritage, with its dovecotes, manor houses, cathedrals, abbeys and castles. The bustling towns of Rouen, Le Havre, Dieppe, Fécamp, Eu and Tréport, each with their own unique atmosphere are not to be missed. Or explore the Normandy countryside of the Pays de Caux, the Pays de Bray and the Bresle Valley, with their bucolic landscapes and delicious local products.

    Culture and heritage

    Etretat, which was once a little fishing village, has continued to develop since seaside holidays came into fashion and it opened up its casino. To discover this pretty seaside resort, take a walk through the quaint little streets of Etretat! Stroll along the seafront, overlooked by the chalk cliffs, and the chapel of Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde, which protects over the fishermen. The view of the magnificent cliffs at dusk is a truly romantic sight.
    There are 3 trips a day from Fécamp, and it the weather lends itself, you may even have the chance to go through the limestone arches. You won’t regret the experience!

    A stroll along the Chemin de Douaniers promenade alongside the cliffs is a real must! Etretat is also known for its beautiful gardens.

    Rouen’s old town is dotted with typical half-timbered houses. You will love strolling through its cobbled streets and admiring the Gros-Horloge clock along the way. The Gothic cathedral of Rouen, which is the highest in France, is not to be missed either. For art lovers, the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Rouen is well worth a visit: it houses the largest collection of Impressionist paintings outside Paris, with works by Monet, Sisley, Pissaro, and Renoir among others.

    A few kilometres from St Pierre en Port, Fécamp offers a rich and varied heritage for you to discover. For hundreds of years, this coastal town was the primary port for cod fishing in Newfoundland and Iceland, and it’s history has been shaped by it, with its fisheries, festivals, water sports, and herring farming…

    Just 15 minutes from the campsite, discover the sumptuous palace, with its Gothic and Renaissance features, which houses the Benedictine distillery. Visit the museum, the cellars, and enjoy a tasting, to discover all the secrets of the famous Norman liquor.

    With its developed waterfront, museums, art galleries, and festivals… you’ll never run out of inspiration in Le Havre!

    Known for its immense port, Le Havre is also renowned for its architecture. Classed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the town centre, which was rebuilt by Auguste Perret, gives the town its unique character. The Volcan and the multi-media library, designed by the famous architect Oscar Niemeyer, combine curves and asymmetry, while the André Malraux – MuMa – modern art museum stands out for its glass architecture…

    Famous for the royal residence of King Louis-Philippe, the city of Eu has many wonderful tales to tell.
    Between the Baie de Somme and the Alabaster Coast, the city of Eu, located in the heart of the Bresle Valley, is well worth the visit. With its archaeological site and historical monuments, the royal city has a surprising heritage.

    Dieppe is one of the most emblematic seaside towns on the Alabaster Coast.
    As the oldest seaside resort in France, it was in Dieppe that the fad for sea bathing first began.
    As one of the busiest ports in Normandy, the life of the town flows to the rhythm of the sea. Dieppe fish has always been highly prized, hence the motto “Dieppe fish, Choice fish!”. Even today, Dieppe remains the primary French port for king scallops. This seafood thus naturally takes pride of place in the town’s many restaurants. Used in Normandy carpaccio and for many other dishes, it is particularly appreciated in the hearty local speciality of marmite dieppoise fish stew.

    Abundant countryside

    Bathed in the sparkling light of the green and blue waters of the English Channel, the white chalk cliffs of the Côte d’Albâtre extend for 130 km. You can explore the seaside towns and hidden valleys of the Normandy coastline along the many foot and cycle paths of the Pays de Caux. Your walks or bike rides, will take you through meadows and woodland, and along shady paths, offering magnificent views of the cliffs or Normany… landscapes with a mineral beauty.

    The region isn’t only wonderful for sport. Gastronomy reigns supreme in the Seine-Maritime! With its seafood, scallops, oysters, and herrings, its juicy apples and famous cider, its AOP creams and Livarot and Neufchâtel cheeses, culinary specialties abound. Discover these mouth-watering products, and if you fancy treating yourselves, book a table at one of the area’s many Michelin-starred restaurants.

    Hiking, cycling, windsurfing, sand yachting, paddle boarding, canoeing, and fly boarding along the cliffs… the Côte d’Albâtre is the ideal destination to enjoy new thrills and practice your favourite sports! The Normandy bike routes are a treat for anyone who loves cycling, including the Vélo-Route du Littoral, which connects Tréport and Le Havre via the nearby Sassetot-le-Mauconduit. For hikers, the GR21 Ault (80) – Le Havre (76) long distance footpath passes close to the campsite and offers magnificent views!

    In the Regional Natural Park of Boucles de Seine, the Route des Fruits is ideal for gentle family bike rides to enjoy the colours, scents, and seasons of Normandy. With apples, pears, plums, and cherries… discover and taste the succulent fruit of the Normandy countryside.

    With the kids

    Starting at Étretat station or Les Loges, this little tourist train takes you on a 5km journey along a century-old railway in the heart of a green valley. There are 4 to 5 departures per day depending on the time of year.

    For an afternoon of family fun, head to Fécamp with its multi-activity leisure park and tree high-wire activities. Closer to the campsite, in Sassetot-le-Mauconduit, your children will love Dalles Maze, which has 4 different courses, and puzzles for you to solve.

    Come along to Saint-Jouin-Bruneval farm as a family to meet the animals and stroll about among the donkeys, rodents, ponies, pigs, peacocks, rodents and other hairy or feathered friends.

    Photos of the Haute-Normandie region | Campsite Les Falaises

Français
  • Français
  • English
  • Nederlands
  • Deutsch
  • camping_les_falaises_region_honfleur

    Normandie, terre de contrastes

    La Normandie possède un riche patrimoine bâti, fait de colombiers, de manoirs, cathédrales, abbayes et châteaux. Les villes de Rouen, du Havre, de Dieppe, de Fécamp, de Eu ou du Tréport, diverses et animées, sont à ne pas manquer. Explorez aussi les terres normandes en vous enfonçant dans les campagnes du Pays de Caux, du Pays de Bray et de la vallée de la Bresle, à la rencontre de leurs paysages et leurs délicieux produits.

    Culture et patrimoine

    Ancien petit village de pêcheurs, Etretat n’a cessé de se développer depuis la mode des bains de mer et la construction de son casino. Pour découvrir cette jolie station balnéaire, une balade à pied parmi les ruelles typiques d’Etretat s’impose! Promenez-vous sur son front de mer, face à la falaise d’amont et la chapelle Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde, protectrice des pêcheurs. Admirez la vue sur ses incroyables falaises de craie à la tombée de la nuit. Un spectacle particulièrement romantique.
    Des départs s’effectuent environ 3 fois par jour depuis Fécamp vous permettant parfois, si la météo s’y prête, de passer sous les arches de calcaire. Vous ne le regretterez pas !

    Ne manquez pas la promenade sur le Chemin de douaniers qui longe les falaises ! Etretat est également célèbre pour ses magnifiques jardins.

    Dans le centre historique de Rouen, les maisons à colombages typiques foisonnent. Vous aimerez vous balader dans ses ruelles pavées et découvrir au détour de l’une d’elle, le Gros-Horloge. La cathédrale gothique de Rouen, la plus haute de France, est ne pas manquer. Pour les amateurs de peinture, le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Rouen mérite le détour : il abrite la plus importante collection impressionniste hors de Paris : Monet, Sisley, Pissaro, Renoir…

    A quelques kilomètres de St Pierre en Port, Fécamp offre un patrimoine riche et varié aux curieux en tout genre. Cette ville côtière a longtemps été le 1er port de pêche à la morue à Terre-Neuve et en Islande, ce qui a façonné son histoire: pêcheries, fêtes gourmandes, sports nautiques, et culture du hareng…

    A 15 minutes du camping, découvrez le somptueux palais d’inspiration gothique et renaissance qui abrite la distillerie de la Bénédictine. Visite du musée, des caves et dégustation… la célèbre liqueur normande n’aura bientôt plus de secrets pour vous.

    Avec son front de mer aménagé, ses musées, ses galeries d’art, ses festivals… Au Havre, on ne s’ennuie jamais !

    Connue pour son gigantesque port, Le Havre est aussi reconnu pour son architecture. Classée au Patrimoine Mondial par l’UNESCO, le centre-ville reconstruit par Auguste Perret donne un caractère unique à la ville. Le Volcan et la médiathèque, œuvres du célèbre Oscar Niemeyer, conjuguent courbes et asymétrie. Le musée d’art moderne André Malraux – MuMa – se distingue par son architecture de verre…

    Connue pour le Château Louis-Philippe, la ville d’Eu a de longues et belles histoires à raconter.
    Entre Baie de Somme et Côte d’Albâtre, la ville d’Eu, située au cœur de la Vallée de la Bresle, mérite plus qu’un simple détour. Site archéologique et monuments historiques, la cité royale surprend par son patrimoine.

    Dieppe est l’une des stations balnéaires emblématiques de la Côte d’Albâtre.
    Plus ancienne station balnéaire française, c’est à Dieppe que sont nés les premiers bains de mer.
    Avec l’un des ports les plus actifs de Normandie, la vie de la cité est rythmée par la mer. Le poisson dieppois a toujours été très prisé, d’où la devise « Poisson dieppois, Poisson de choix ! ». Aujourd’hui encore, Dieppe reste le premier port français pour la coquille Saint-Jacques. Ce coquillage est donc naturellement mis à l’honneur dans les nombreux restaurants de la ville. En carpaccio à la normande ou sous d’autres formes, on l’apprécie particulièrement dans la marmite dieppoise, une généreuse spécialité locale.

    Une nature intense

    Baignées par la lumière et les eaux vertes et bleues de la Manche, les falaises de craie blanche de la Côte d’Albâtre s’étendent sur 130 km. Les stations balnéaires et les valleuses cachées du littoral normand se découvrent via les nombreux circuits de randonnée proposés sur le territoire du Pays de Caux. Lors de vos balades à pied ou à vélo, vous croiserez plaines, forêts, petits sentiers ombragés et magnifiques point de vue sur les falaises normandes… Des paysages à la beauté minérale.

    Il n’y en a pas que pour les sportifs. La gastronomie est reine en Seine-Maritime! Avec ses produits issus de la mer, coquilles Saint-Jacques, huîtres et harengs, ses pommes juteuses et son cidre, sa crème et ses fromages AOP, Livarot ou Neufchâtel, les spécialités culinaires ne manquent pas dans la région. Découvrez ces produits aux saveurs généreuses, et si l’envie vous en dit, laissez vous tenter par l’une des nombreuses tables étoilées du coin.

    Randonnées à pied ou à vélo, planche à voile, char à voile, mais aussi paddle, canoë ou flyboard le long des falaises… la côte d’Albâtre est l’endroit idéal pour vivre des expériences fortes et pratiquer son sport favori! Les itinéraires de la Normandie à vélo séduiront les amateurs de cyclisme, notamment la Vélo-route du Littoral, qui relie le Tréport au Havre via Sassetot-le-mauconduit toute proche. Pour les randonneurs, le tracé du GR21 Ault (80) – Le Havre (76) passe tout près du camping et offre de splendides points de vue!

    Dans le Parc Naturel Régional des Boucles de Seine, la Route des Fruits est idéale pour flâner à vélo en famille, au fil des couleurs, des senteurs et des saisons. Pommes, poires, prunes, cerises… régalez-vous en découvrant et en dégustant les savoureux fruits de la campagne Normande.

    Avec les enfants

    Au départ de la gare d’Étretat ou des Loges, à bord de ce petit train touristique, vous parcourrez plus de 5km sur une voie ferrée centenaire au coeur d’une valleuse verdoyante. 4 à 5 départs par jour selon les périodes.

    Pour passer une agréable après-midi en famille, cap sur Fécamp et son parc de loisirs multi-activités avec ses activités d’accrobranche. Plus proche du camping, à Sassetot-le-Mauconduit, vos enfants s’amuseront aussi au labyrinthe des Dalles, qui propose 4 parcours et des énigmes à résoudre.

    Photos de la région de Haute-Normandie | Camping Les Falaises